NALAG Inaugurates Seven Sub-Committees

The National Association of Local Authorities of Ghana (NALAG) has inaugurated seven sub-committees to assist the National Executive Council (NEC) in carrying out their mandate as the governing body of the Association.

The event took place at Erata Hotel in Accra on 5th February, 2020 during the First Quarter meeting of the NEC.

The sub-committees are Finance and Administration; Policy and Resolution; Economic Development; Environment, Sanitation and Tourism; International Relations; Public Relations; Gender and Development. 

The inauguration is in fulfilment of Article 14 of the NALAG Constitution which mandates the National Executive Council to establish Sub-Committees who shall perform functions relevant to the subject matter assigned to it by the NEC.

Hon. Bismark Baisie Nkum, President, NALAG

Hon. Bismark Baisie Nkum, the President of the Association who inaugurated the Sub-committees on behalf of NEC, charged the various representatives to bring their expertise to bear in making NALAG a preferred destination for Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and local government actors when it comes to the issue of local governance and decentralization in Ghana.

He urged members of the committees to also stick to their core mandate of NALAG of advocacy and lobbying for members, and resort to their time-tested tools of quiet diplomacy.

He particularly charged the Finance and Administration sub-committee which is chaired by Hon. Williams Aduum, 1st Vice President of the Association and MCE for Kassena Nankana Municipal Assembly, to work tirelessly to improve the financial strength of the organization towards building a more robust Association.

The chairpersons of each sub-committee is a representative on the National Executive Council of the Association with the General Secretary being an ex-officio member of every sub-committee.

Leave a Reply